Source: NJPWGlobal

New IWGP World Heavyweight Champion To Be Crowned At Dominion, NJPW Road To Dominion Schedule

New Japan Pro Wrestling announced three huge matches for this Monday’s big Dominion event in Osaka-jo Hall. The main event will see Kazuchika Okada face off against Shingo Takagi for the vacant IWGP World Heavyweight Championship, in a rematch from the first round of this year’s New Japan Cup. Okada was originally set to face IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Will Ospreay at Wrestle Grand Slam in Tokyo Dome, but had been pulled from events since May 4th due to a positive COVID infection.

Another loose end from May 4th will be wrapped up at Dominion, as IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion El Desperado defending the title against YOH, as he was supposed to in Fukuoka. Both YOH and El Desperado were pulled from the May 4th event due to COVID exposure, and in the case of El Desperado, a bout with COVID that left the IWGP Jr. Champion humbled.

The main events of the Road To Wrestle Grand Slam tour saw Kota Ibushi look for revenge against Jeff Cobb for Cobb’s attack at Sakura Genesis, the two men will get to finally clash one-on-one on June 7th.


NJPW Dominion

18:00 JST/5am ET on

  • IWGP World Heavyweight Championship Match: Kazuchika Okada vs. Shingo Takagi
  • IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship Match: El Desperado (c) vs. YOH
  • Jeff Cobb vs. Kota Ibushi
  • More matches to be announced

New Japan Pro Wrestling also announced the matches for the upcoming Road To Dominion tour. It will kick off on June 1st, with Guerrillas of Destiny defending their IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championships against Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr., then the NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Titles take center stage on night 2.

The shows will mark several notable returns, as Minoru Suzuki, SHO, YOH, El Desperado, Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Kazuchika Okada all return after being pulled from Wrestling Dontaku on May 4th due to COVID exposure.

All three shows will air on at 5:30am ET


  • SHO, YOH & Yuya Uemura vs. Suzuki-gun (Minoru Suzuki, El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru)
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi, Tomoaki Honma, Tiger Mask & Ryusuke Taguchi vs. Bullet Club (EVIL, Chase Owens, Taiji Ishimori & El Phantasmo)
  • Kota Ibushi & Yota Tsuji vs. United Empire (Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan)
  • CHAOS (Kazuchika Okada, Hirooki Goto, Tomohiro Ishii & YOSHI-HASHI) vs. Los Ingobernables de Japon (Shingo Takagi, Tetsuya Naito, SANADA & BUSHI)
  • IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championship Match: Guerrillas of Destiny (Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa) (c) vs. Dangerous Tekkers (Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr.)


  • Hiroshi Tanahashi, Tomoaki Honma, Yota Tsuji & Yuya Umeura vs. Bullet Club (EVIL, Chase Owens, El Phantasmo  & Taiji Ishimori)
  • SHO, YOH & Ryusuke Taguchi vs. Suzuki-gun (El Desperado, DOUKI & Yoshinobu Kanemaru)
  • Bullet Club (Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa & Jado) vs. Suzuki-gun (Minoru Suzuki, Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr.)
  • Kota Ibushi & Master Wato vs. United Empire (Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan)
  • NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship Match: CHAOS (YOSHI-HASHI, Hirooki Goto & Tomohiro Ishii) (c) vs. Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI, SANADA & Tetsuya Naito)


  • Matches TBA