Source: NJPWWorld

NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29: Nights 5 & 6 Results (5/21 & 5/22)

The 29th Best of Super Juniors continued over the weekend. Nights 5 and 6 of the tournament were the final nights of single block competition. From here on out, all of the shows will be 10 match supercards with nothing but tournament action.

Here are the standings as of 5/22:

A Block: 

  1. Taiji Ishimori, Hiromu Takahashi- 6 points
  2. YOH, Ace Austin, Alex Zayne- 4 points
  3. Ryusuke Taguchi, SHO, Francesco Akira- 2 points
  4. Clark Connors, Yoshinobu Kanemaru- 0 points

B Block:

  1. El Desperado, El Phantasmo- 6 points
  2. BUSHI, EL LINDAMAN, Robbie Eagles- 4 points
  3. TJP, DOUKI, Wheeler Yuta- 2 points
  4. Master Wato, Titán- 0 points

The top of A Block is being run by IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion Taiji Ishimori, and last year’s BOSJ winner Hiromu Takahashi. YOH has had a surprisingly inspired run so far and is nipping at the top spot’s heels with 4 points. Alongside him are standout debutantes Ace Austin & Alex Zayne. Both men have been sharing their fearless food adventures as they continue their first run in NJPW.

United Empire’s Francesco Akira continues to struggle, after Night 3’s loss saw to Hiromu Takahashi saw him in tears, the former-AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion fell to Ryusuke Taguchi on Saturday. While there’s still plenty of time left in the tournament, this cannot be the start the United Empire envisioned for their newest member.

Over in B Block El Desperadon and El Phantasmo are tied for the top spot. Phantasmo has been unstoppable, and Desperado is hungry to regain the Jr. Title that he lost at the beginning of May. The breakout star of B Block has been EL LINDAMAN. The GLEAT G-Rex Champion has been getting steady tag wins in non-tournament matches, and overall getting great reactions from the crowd.

The real disappointment of B Block is Master Wato. The IWGP Jr. Tag Team Champion seems to have taken a step back over the course of the tournament. Loss after loss is making the road to the grandmaster much, much longer for the rookie talent.

Here are the full results:

READ MORE: Night 1 results, Nights 2-4 results


NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29: Night 5

Available on

  • Non-Tournament Match: Titán, EL LINDAMAN & Jado def. Bullet Club (El Phantasmo, Dick Togo & Gedo) by pinfall. (9:23)

    EL LINDAMAN pinned Gedo via German Suplex.
  • Non-Tournament Match: Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI & Shingo Takagi) def. Master Wato & Hiroyoshi Tenzan by pinfall. (9:01)

    Shingo Takagi pinned Hiroyoshi Tenzan via Pumping Bomber.
  • Non-Tournament Match: Wheeler Yuta, Robbie Eagles & Tiger Mask def. Suzuki-gun (El Desperado, DOUKI & TAKA Michinoku) by pinfall. (9:31)

    Robbie Eagles pinned TAKA Michinoku via Turbo Backpack.
  • A Block: SHO (2) def. Clark Connors (0) by pinfall via Schoolboy Rollup. (10:29)
  • A Block: Ryusuke Taguchi (2) def. Francesco Akira (2) by pinfall via Samson Clutch. (12:17)
  • A Block: YOH (4) def. Yoshinobu Kanemaru (0) by pinfall via DIRECT DRIVE. (10:43)
  • A Block: Hiromu Takahashi (6) def. Ace Austin (4) by pinfall via Time Bomb II. (12:50)
  • A Block: Taiji Ishimori (6) def. Alex Zayne (4) by submission via Bone Lock. (13:45)


NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29: Night 6

Available on

  • Non-Tournament Match:  Clark Connors, Alex Zayne, Ace Austin & Tiger Mask def. Ryusuke Taguchi, YOH, Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Jado by pinfall. (9:01)

    Alex Zayne pinned Jado via Cinnamon Twist.
  • Non-Tournament Match: Bullet Club (Taiji Ishimori & Gedo) def. House of Torture (SHO & Dick Togo) by submission. (9:13)

    Taiji Ishimori submitted Dick Togo via Bone Lock.
  • Non-Tournament Match: Los Ingobernables de Japon (Hiromu Takahashi & Shingo Takagi) def. Suzuki-gun (TAKA Michinoku & Yoshinobu Kanemaru) by pinfall. (8:22)

    Shingo Takagi pinned TAKA Michinoku via Pumping Bomber.
  • B Block: Robbie Eagles (4) def. DOUKI (2) by submission via Ron Miller Special. (11:57)
  • B Block: EL LINDAMAN (4) def. TJP (2) by pinfall via German Suplex. (11:11)
  • B Block: BUSHI (4) def. Master Wato (0) by pinfall via MX.
  • B Block: El Phantasmo (6) def. Titán (0) by pinfall via CR II. (14:43)
  • B Block: El Desperado (6) def. Wheeler Yuta (2) by pinfall via Pinche Loco. (15:44)

NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29 will return on May 24th at 5:30am ET on