NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29: Night 8 Results (5/25)

Another night, another round of Super Juniors action in Korakuen Hall. Night 8 of the Best of Super Juniors was another 10-match extravaganza, with the main event turning the tables on last year’s finals.

YOH bested BOSJ 28 winner Hiromu Takahashi in the main event of Wednesday’s show. Avenging last year’s loss in the finals, YOH was upbeat but reserved in his post-match comments. While the man himself is a walking existential crisis, YOH’s stretch of success has been one of the more underrated aspects of this year’s tournament.

Earlier in the night, fast friends and even faster fan favorites Ace Austin and Alex Zayne battled in the opening contest. Both men’s food adventures in Japan have endeared them to the Japanese fans, who were as energetic as they’ve been in ages for the two debutantes. Austin got the better of Zayne but both men exchanged mutual respect after the match.

IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion Taiji Ishimori was utterly embarrassed by longtime rival Yoshinobu Kanemaru. Kanemaru rolled the Jr. Champ up in just over 2 minutes. Ishimori remains at the top of A Block, but he’s joined by the previously mentioned Ace Austin.

DOUKI continued his unlikely climb up the ranks with a win over BUSHI. Wheeler Yuta fended off Titán. El Phantasmo broke into the top ranks of B Block with a win over G-Rex Champion EL LINDAMAN. Plus TJP did right by his #1 fan Manny Pacquiao, and beat fellow Filipino star Robbie Eagles in a thrilling bout.

There is one more night left in Korakuen Hall, and plenty of tournament action left until June 3rd. Even the wrestlers that are woefully behind in the rankings are still just barely viable. The Master Watos and Francesco Akiras of the world still have a shot (possibly, I was in remedial math).

Here are the full results and standings:


NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29: Night 8

Available on NJPWWorld.com

  • A Block: Ace Austin (8) def. Alex Zayne (6) by pinfall via THE FOLD. (11:37)
  • B Block: DOUKI (6) def. BUSHI (4) by submission via DOUKI Chokey. (8:09)
  • A Block: Clark Connors (4) def. Francesco Akira (2) by pinfall via Trophy Kill. (8:13)
  • B Block: Wheeler Yuta (6) def. Titán (2) by pinfall via Seatbelt Clutch. (7:01)
  • B Block: El Phantasmo (8) def. EL LINDAMAN (6) by pinfall via CR II. (8:40)
  • A Block: SHO (4) def. Ryusuke Taguchi (2) by pinfall via Rollup. (10:53)
  • A Block: Yoshinobu Kanemaru (4) def. Taiji Ishimori (8) by pinfall via Rollup. (2:07)
  • B Block: TJP (4) def. Robbie Eagles (4) by submission via Pinoy Stretch. (11:49)
  • B Block: El Desperado (8) def. Master Wato (2) by pinfall via Pinche Loco. (16:06)
  • A Block: YOH (6) def. Hiromu Takahashi (6) by pinfall via DIRECT DRIVE. (17:57)

READ MORE: Night 1 results, Nights 2-4 results, Nights 5 & 6 results, Night 7 results

BOSJ 29 Standings (as of Night 8)

A Block

  1. Ace Austin, Taiji Ishimori- 8 points
  2. Alex Zayne, YOH, Hiromu Takahashi- 6 points
  3. Clark Connors, SHO, Yoshinobu Kanemaru- 4 points
  4. Francesco Akira, Ryusuke Taguchi- 2 points

B Block

  1. El Phantasmo, El Desperado- 8 points
  2. DOUKI, Wheeler Yuta, EL LINDAMAN- 6 points
  3. TJP, Robbie Eagles, BUSHI- 4 points
  4. Titán, Master Wato- 2 points

NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29 will continue on May 26th at 5:30am ET on NJPWWorld.com