Tetsuya Naito NJPW G1 Climax 33
Image Credit: NJPW

Tetsuya Naito Wins NJPW G1 Climax 33

Tetsuya Naito has won the NJPW G1 Climax 33.

In the tournament finals on August 13, Naito defeated Kazuchika Okada to win the G1 Climax 33. With the victory, Naito became a three-time winner. He previously won the G1 Climax in 2013 and 2017.

Naito’s win in the G1 Climax earned him the G1 briefcase and a shot at the IWGP World Heavyweight Championship. He is set to challenge for the gold at NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 18 on January 4.

Naito, the winner of D Block, advanced to the finals by defeating Hikuleo in the quarterfinals and Will Ospreay in the semi-finals.

Meanwhile, Okada won B block and defeated Zack Sabre Jr and EVIL in the playoff rounds to reach the finals. Okada had won the tournament in 2021 and 2022.

Among other accolades, Naito is a three-time IWGP Heavyweight Champion.