Kazuchika Okada Jay White NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 17
Image Credit: NJPW

NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 17 Results – January 4, 2023: Jay White Defends The IWGP Championship Against Kazuchika Okada

NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 17 Results – January 4, 2023

Welcome to WrestleZone’s live coverage of Wrestle Kingdom 17.

Catch 2/2 (Francesco Akira & TJP) defeated CHAOS (Lio Rush & YOH) to retain/win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championships

  • TJP catches YOH with an inside cradle to retain the titles in an exciting opener.

KAIRI defeated Tam Nakano to retain the IWGP Women’s Championship

  • KAIRI hits the Isane elbow to secure the pinfall victory over Tam Nakano

The lights go out after the match, and we get the official debut of Mercedes Moné (the former Sasha Banks). They have a confrontation in the ring and end up shaking hands before Moné lays her out. Mercedes takes the microphone and said she’ll face KAIRI for the championship at Battle in the Valley on February 18 in San Jose.

Bishamon (Hirooki Goto & YOSHI-HASHI) defeated FTR (Dax Harwood and Cash Wheeler) to win the IWGP Tag Team Championships

  • YOSHI-HASHI pinned Dax Harwood after the GYR double-team maneuver to become the new IWGP Tag Team Champions.

NJPW World TV Championship Tournament Finals: Zack Sabre Jr. defeated Ren Narita to become the NJPW World TV Champion

  • Zack Sabre Jr. wins the championship via Article 50 (armbar) submission.

TMDK approached Zack Sabre Jr. after the match and offered him a TDMK shirt, Sabre Jr. accepts it, and the three men celebrate in the ring.

Tama Tonga defeated Karl Anderson to become the new NEVER Openweight Champion

  • Tama Tonga hits the Gun Stun on Karl Anderson to secure the pinfall victory and the NEVER Openweight Championship.

Tonga has an impromptu photoshoot with the championship in the ring following the matchup.

Keiji Muto, Hiroshi Tanahashi & Shota Umino defeated Los Ingobernables De Japon (Tetsuya Naito, SANADA & BUSHI) in Keiji Muto’s last NJPW match

  • Keiji Muto hit the shining wizard on BUSHI which was followed up with a Death Rider by Shota Umino to secure the pinfall victory for his team.

Hiromu Takahashi defeated El Desperado, Master Wato, and Taiji Ishimori to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship

  • Hiromu Takahashi hit Master Wato with the Timebomb II to get the three count and become the new IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion.

Kenny Omega defeated Will Ospreay to win the IWGP United States Championship

  • Kenny Omega hit the One Winged Angel on Will Ospreay to win the championship in an incredible matchup.

Kazuchika Okada defeated Jay White to win the IWGP World Championship

  • Kazuchika Okada hit the Rainmaker on Jay White to score the pinfall victory and become the IWGP World Champion once again.

Okada’s celebration is interrupted by Shingo Takagi who congratulates Okada on winning the title back but wants the next shot at the IWGP World Championship. Takagi leaves and Okada thanks the crowd for their support as Wrestle Kingdom 17 comes to a close.

READ MORE: Kazuchika Okada: Jay White And I Represent NJPW Better Than Anyone

What did you think of NJPW Wrestle Kingdom 17? What was your favorite match? Let us know your thoughts by sounding off in the comments section below.