kenny omega
Photo Credit: All Elite Wrestling

2018 ‘Observer Newsletter’ Award Winners Released: Who Has A Flair For The Gold?

Dave Meltzer of The Wrestling Observer released the 2018 Observer Newsletter Awards in his latest issue.

Kenny Omega took home two awards by being first in voting for The “Lou Thesz/Ric Flair Award (Wrestler Of The Year)” and “Most Outstanding Wrestler.” Other wrestlers in contention for the Lou Thesz/Ric Flair were Hiroshi Tanahashi & Kazuchika Okada while finishing up the top five were LA Park and Becky Lynch.

  • “Tag Team Of The Year” went to The Young Bucks, followed by The Golden Lovers and The Undisputed Era.
  • “Best On Interviews” went to Daniel Bryan who was followed by Samoa Joe and Becky Lynch.
  • “Pro Wrestling Match Of The Year” went to the June 9th battle between Kenny Omega vs. Kazuchika Okada in Osaka Japan followed by the Tokyo bout between Kazuchika Okada vs. Kota Ibushi on October 8th and Johnny Gargano vs. Andrade Cein Almas in Philadelphia on January 27th.
  • “Women’s Wrestling MVP” went to Becky Lynch followed by Ronda Rousey and Meiko Satomura.
  • “Feud Of The Year” went to Johnny Gargano vs. Tommaso Ciampa followed by MMA’s Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Conor McGregor and LA Park vs. Rush.
  • “Most Improved” went to Adam Page followed by Jay White and Velveteen Dream.
  • “The Bryan Danielson Award (Best Technical Wrestler)” went to Zack Sabre Jr. followed by Daniel Bryan himself and Hideki Suzuki.
  • “Most Overrated” went to Baron Corbin followed by Nia Jax and Brock Lesnar.
  • “Most Underrated” went to Finn Balor followed by Gran Metalik and Andrade.
  • “Rookie Of The Year” went to Ronda Rousey followed by Utami Hayashishita and Brian Pillman Jr.

You can become a member of the Wrestling Observer by going here.

Care to compare? You can check out how the Observer stacked up to ours by checking out The 2018 Wrestlezone Year-End Awards.

RELATED: 2018 Wrestlezone Year-End Awards