WWE Money in the Bank Damian Priest Seth Rollins
Image Credit: WWE

Report: Details On Botched Pinfall Count In World Title Match At WWE Money In The Bank

A new report provides more information about the botched pin attempt at WWE Money in the Bank.

At WWE Money in the Bank, Damian Priest defended the World Heavyweight Championship match against Seth Rollins. Rollins went for a pin after a Falcon Arrow, and Priest did not kick out. However, the referee did not count the three. This led to plenty of confusion among fans.

Sean Ross Sapp of Fightful (via Fightful Select) reports that there was not any heat on Priest or referee Rod Zapata.

Per sources, Priest was supposed to have kicked out, and he was said to be fine after the bout. It was noted that Zapata did not count the three because it would have led to a title change. This would have changed the circumstances for Drew McIntyre’s cash-in and CM Punk’s interference.

Sapp cites another WWE source who called it an “unfortunate situation” and noted that this did not usually happen with Priest. This source said that it would be silly to hold the error against Priest, as it was a “sh*t happens situation”.

It was also noted that Drew McIntyre’s music hitting would not have stopped a pinfall count. For this reason, the planned music was seemingly not to blame for the botch.

RELATED: WWE Money in the Bank Results (7/6/24)