NJPW Best of Super Junior 29 Final Results (6/3)

Hiromu Takahashi has made history on Friday, winning his third consecutive Best of Super Juniors tournament, and his fourth overall. Takahashi breaks ahead of former record holders Koji Kanemoto and Tiger Mask as the most decorated Jr. Heavyweight in the history of the tournament. Former IWGP Heavyweight Champion Tatsumi Fujinami was on hand to present Hiromu with the BOSJ trophy.

Takahashi bested El Desperado in the main event of Friday’s show. A blistering rematch from the 2020 finals, that saw El Desperado fall to Hiromu once again. After recently losing the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship, and now falling to his eternal rival yet again, Desperado’s climb back to the top will be a long and narrow way.

The main event wasn’t the only big news from Friday’s show. SANADA returned to NJPW after suffering a facial injury in the New Japan Cup. The former IWGP United States Heavyweight Champion made it clear he intends to challenge for the title at Dominion, though who he will be facing will be up in the air, as US Champion Juice Robinson was pulled from Friday’s show with acute appendicitis.

Ace Austin shocked NJPW fans on Friday when he interfered in Bullet Club’s six-man tag match against the United Empire. Austin helped Bullet Club get the win, joining the faction and turning his back on the fans that warmed to him so quickly over the past month. Austin took things even farther by joining his new friends in a beatdown of his former friend-in-food Alex Zayne.

Austin wasn’t the only back up that Bullet Club brought to Budokan. KENTA returned to the NJPW ring after suffering a brutal injury at Wrestle Kingdom 15. KENTA backed up Jay White, Gedo, Taiji Ishimori and the returning Doc Gallows in a losing effort against IWGP World Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada, Toru Yano, Jado and NEVER Openweight Champion Tama Tonga.

Plus TJP & Francesco Akira got another win over the IWGP Jr. Tag Team Champions, Zack Sabre Jr. got a dominant win over House of Torture, and Tomoaki Honma got a rare singles victory over Young Lion Ryohei Oiwa.


NJPW Best of Super Juniors 29 Final

Available on NJPWWorld.com

  • Tomoaki Honma def. Ryohei Oiwa by pinfall via Kokeshi. (4:36)
  • EL LINDAMAN, Alex Zayne, Ace Austin & Wheeler Yuta def. YOH, Robbie Eagles, Clark Connors & Titán by pinfall. (6:34)

    Alex Zayne pinned Clark Connors via Cinnamon Twist.
  • United Empire (TJP & Francesco Akira) def. Six or Nine (Master Wato & Ryusuke Taguchi) by submission. (6:47)

    TJP submitted Ryusuke Taguchi via Pinoy Stretch.
  • Suzuki-gun (Yoshinobu Kanemaru & Zack Sabre Jr.) def. House of Torture (EVIL & SHO) by submission. (4:56)

    Zack Sabre Jr. submitted SHO via High Cross.
  • Bullet Club (El Phantasmo, Chase Owens & Bad Luck Fale) def. United Empire (Aaron Henare, Jeff Cobb & Great-O-Khan) by pinfall. (8:08)

    El Phantasmo pinned Aaron Henare via CR II.
  • Los Ingobernables de Japon (Shingo Takagi, Tetsuya Naito & BUSHI) def. Suzuki-gun (TAKA Michinoku, Taichi & DOUKI) by pinfall. (9:31)

    Shingo Takagi pinned TAKA Michinoku via Cobra Twist Pin.
  • Kazuchika Okada, Tama Tonga, Toru Yano & Jado def. Bullet Club (Jay White, Doc Gallows, Gedo & Taiji Ishimori) by pinfall. (8:33)

    Tama Tonga pinned Gedo via Gun Stun.
  • Best of Super Junior 29 Final: Hiromu Takahashi def. El Desperado by pinfall via Time Bomb II. (30:37)

NJPW will return for NJPW Dominion on June 12th at 1am ET on NJPWWorld.com